Service

  • Calls
    (URL: http://www.fona.de/en/calls.php)

  • Publications
    (URL: http://www.fona.de/en/publications.php)

  • News
    (URL: http://www.fona.de/en/news.php)

  • Press Reports
    (URL: http://www.fona.de/en/press.php)

  • Events
    (URL: http://www.fona.de/en/events.php)

  • Actors
    (URL: http://www.fona.de/en/actors.php)

  • Newsletter
    (URL: https://www.fona.de/en/newsletter.php)

  • Contact
    (URL: https://www.fona.de/en/contact.php)


30.07.2014

Fusion Research

Plasmagefäß der Fusionsforschungsanlage ASDEX Upgrade, Garching. Projektion eines Kugelpanoramas in Polarkoordinaten

A plasma container at the facilityfusion research ASDEX Upgrade in Garching, Germany. Projection of a panorama globe in polar coordinates.


Foto: Volker Steger. Deutscher Preis für Wissenschaftsfotografie 2012.

In securing long-term energy supplies for the world, nuclear fusion is an option that goes beyond the timeframe set out in Germany’s Energy Strategy.


Nuclear fusion is how energy is generated in the sun. Two light hydrogen isotopes, deuterium and tritium, fuse together and release energy. Helium is produced as a by-product. If this technology can be made to work in practice, it would bring huge advantages: the fuel would be available in almost unlimited quantities, the process is virtually climate neutral and it produces radioactive waste in smaller quantities and with shorter half-lives than conventional nuclear power plants. 

Fusion research is not covered by the German government’s Energy Strategy because the research work involved will stretch beyond 2050. Responsible research promotion thus calls for the monitoring of long-term social, industrial and technological developments. 

This is the backdrop against which fusion research is promoted. If the scientific and technological challenges are overcome, it could supply a key, base-load contribution to the energy supply system of the future. For this reason, Germany is working with EU partners to build the International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor (ITER), which aims to demonstrate the feasibility of generating energy from fusion processes for the first time using a ‘burning’ (self-sustaining) plasma in the 500 MW range. Two approaches are used to contain the plasma in a magnetic field: the tokamak and the stellarator. ITER uses a tokamak. Mainly to test the suitability of the stellarator technology at production scale, the world’s largest and most advanced stellarator experiment, Wendelstein 7X, is being built in Greifswald. Their different magnetic containment approach means that stellarators, unlike tokamaks, are inherently capable of steady-state operation. However, they are not yet as thoroughly researched.

 

Contact Person(s)

Links

Fusionsforschung (only available in German)

Press

more press reports
(URL: http://www.fona.de/en/press.php)

Service


30.07.2014

Fusionsforschung

Plasmagefäß der Fusionsforschungsanlage ASDEX Upgrade, Garching. Projektion eines Kugelpanoramas in Polarkoordinaten
Volker Steger. Deutscher Preis für Wissenschaftsfotografie 2012.
Plasmagefäß der Fusionsforschungsanlage ASDEX Upgrade, Garching. Projektion eines Kugelpanoramas in Polarkoordinaten

Die Kernfusion ist eine Option für die langfristige Energieversorgung unserer Welt, die über die Zeiträume des Energiekonzeptes hinausreichen.


Die Fusionsforschung bildet das Grundprinzip der Energieerzeugung der Sonne nach. Zwei leichte Wasserstoffisotope, Deuterium und Tritium, verschmelzen miteinander und setzen Energie und als Nebenprodukt das Edelgas Helium frei. Gelingt der Schritt in die Anwendung, wären die Vorzüge vielfältig: Der Brennstoff ist nahezu unbegrenzt verfügbar, der Prozess ist praktisch klimaneutral und es entsteht weniger und kurzlebigerer radioaktiver Abfall als in herkömmlichen Kernkraftwerken.

Die Fusionsforschung ist nicht Bestandteil des Energiekonzeptes der Bundesregierung, weil ihre Erforschung über den Zeitraum des Jahres 2050 hinausreichen wird. Verantwortungsvolle Forschungsförderung bedeutet daher aber auch, langfristige Entwicklungen im gesellschaftlichen, wirtschaftlichen und technologischen Bereich zu verfolgen.

Vor diesem Hintergrund wird die Erforschung der Kernfusion gefördert. Werden die wissenschaftlichen und technischen Herausforderungen bewältigt, könnte die Kernfusion einen wichtigen und grundlastfähigen Beitrag für die Energieversorgung der Zukunft liefern. Aus diesem Grund arbeitet Deutschland mit europäischen Partnern beim Aufbau des internationalen Forschungsreaktors ITER zusammen, der erstmalig mit einem brennenden Fusionsplasma im 500-MW-Bereich die Machbarkeit der Energiegewinnung aus Fusionsprozessen demonstrieren soll. Zur technischen Realisierung der Kernfusion werden zwei Konzepte für den magnetischen Einschluss des Fusionsplasmas verfolgt: das Tokamak- und das Stellaratorprinzip. ITER beruht auf dem Tokamakprinzip. Mit dem Bau des weltweit größten und fortgeschrittensten Stellaratorexperiments, Wendelstein 7X, in Greifswald, soll insbesondere die Kraftwerkstauglichkeit dieses Anlagentyps demonstriert werden. Stellaratoren können anders als Tokamaks aufgrund ihres anderen magnetischen Einschlusskonzepts von vorneherein im Dauerbetrieb arbeiten, sind momentan aber noch nicht so gut erforscht.

Ansprechpartner

Pressemitteilungen

weitere Pressemitteilungen
(URL: http://www.fona.de/de/press.php)