04.01.2012

Cloud Research at Extreme Altitudes

Scientists succeed in the world's first aerosol particle sampling from polar stratospheric clouds for a better understanding of ozone depletion. Polar stratospheric clouds are crucially involved in the formation of the ozone hole. In order to explore their development, measurements at extreme altitudes are needed. This is what researchers from Mainz and Darmstadt have performed last December over northern Sweden. At 20 kilometers altitude they collected aerosol samples from within these clouds. The samples will now be further analyzed in the laboratory to understand to what extent aerosols derived from anthropogenic activities contribute to the formation of polar stratospheric clouds.

Source: (idw) MPI Chemie

In fact the scientists from Mainz and Darmstadt had planned to test their new instruments on board a research aircraft. However exceptional stratospheric weather conditions in December 2011 allowed two measurement flights into polar stratospheric clouds. Thus the world's first sampling of aerosol particles, which enable the formation of these clouds, was possible over northern Sweden at a height of 18 to 20 kilometers.

Clouds are normally formed in the Earth's troposphere. In the stratosphere, they develop only in the winter and in the polar regions. At temperatures of minus 78°C and colder, stratospheric clouds, often showing stunning iridescent colors, develop at altitudes of 15 to 30 kilometers.

"Polar stratospheric clouds usually form much later," said Stephan Borrmann, director at the Max Planck Institute for Chemistry and professor at the Institute of Atmospheric Physics at Mainz University, "The large-scale circular air flow in the polar stratosphere, which is essential for cloud formation, was already strong in mid-December, and the low temperatures were reached earlier."

This enabled the scientists to measure the sizes of individual cloud particles and to determine the properties of aerosol particles in the stratosphere with the help of newly developed thermodynamic and optical measuring instruments on board the research airplane "M55 Geophysica". The collected particles are now being investigated further in the laboratory. The aim is to determine to which extent aerosol particles may contribute to the formation of polar stratospheric clouds. These are aerosol particles which are always present in the stratosphere and originate, e.g., from volcanic eruptions, particles that derive from anthropogenic sources such as soot, and also meteoric dust particles.

Polar stratospheric clouds consist of crystals, which contain mainly water and nitric acid, and traces of sulfuric and hydrochloric acid, as well as the cloud-forming aerosols. The clouds play a crucial role in the degradation of the polar ozone, because chemical reactions at the surface and inside the crystals transform inactive, chlorine-containing substances that originate from human activities into active, ozone-destroying chlorine. In the spring, when sufficient sun light is available within this chemically modified stratosphere, the chlorine causes rapid ozone depletion.

To estimate how the ozone depletion develops in the future, numerical models are used, whose quality largely depends on a detailed knowledge of the physical and chemical processes. To precisely simulate for instance the formation of polar stratospheric clouds, open questions must still be clarified with the help of in-situ experiments. However, to deploy a suitably instrumented measurement platform in such extreme heights is an immense technological challenge to both the aircraft and the scientific instruments.

The adopted research aircraft Geophysica is a former Russian high altitude reconnaissance airplane and started at each time from Kiruna in northern Sweden. The investigations were part of the measurement campaign ESSENCE from the Juelich Research Center (FZJ) and Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT).

"If the current meteorological conditions remain stable in the stratosphere until March, a considerable ozone hole is likely to form over the Northern Hemisphere in the spring of 2012," explained the atmospheric researcher Borrmann. "We can already state this based on the observed clouds and the trace gas measurements." An ozone hole as known from the Antarctic meanwhile regularly develops in the Northern Hemisphere too. Once the stratospheric flows switch to summer conditions, the lost ozone is again replaced incoming ozone from the mid-latitudes.

http://www.mpic.de/Aerosol-und-Wolkenphysik-Uni-Mainz.11616.0.html

News

more news
(URL: http://www.fona.de/en/news.php)

Newsletter


Register for our current FONA-Newsletter!
Subscribe to Newsletter
(URL: https://www.fona.de/en/newsletter.php)

Service


04.01.2012

Wolkenforschung in extremen Höhen

Wissenschaftlern gelingt weltweit erste Probenahme in polaren Stratosphärenwolken zum besseren Verständnis des Ozonabbaus. Polare Stratosphärenwolken sind entscheidend an der Entstehung des Ozonlochs beteiligt. Um ihre Entstehung zu erforschen, muss man Messungen in extremen Höhen machen. Genau das ist Forschern aus Mainz und Darmstadt im letzten Dezember über Nordschweden gelungen. In 20 Kilometer nahmen sie erstmals Aerosolproben aus dem Inneren dieser Wolken. Im Labor wird jetzt geklärt, in welchem Ausmaß das Aerosol, das auch von menschlichen Aktivitäten stammt, zur Bildung der polaren Stratosphärenwolken beiträgt.

Quelle: (idw) MPI Chemie

Eigentlich wollten die Wissenschaftler aus Mainz und Darmstadt nur neue Instrumente an Bord eines Forschungsflugzeugs testen. Außergewöhnliche meteorologische Bedingungen im Dezember 2011 erlaubten jedoch zwei Messflüge in das Innere von polaren Stratosphärenwolken. So gelang über Nordschweden in einer Höhe von 18 bis 20 Kilometer die weltweit erste Probenahme von Aerosolteilchen, die die Wolkenbildung ermöglichen.

Wolken entstehen normalerweise in der erdnahen Troposphäre. In der Stratosphäre kommen sie nur im Winter und nur in den Polregionen vor. Bei Temperaturen von minus 78°C und kälter treten die Stratosphärenwolken mit ihren eindrucksvollen irisierenden Farben in Höhen von 15 bis 30 Kilometer auf.

„Normalerweise bilden sich diese speziellen Wolken erst viel später“, erklärt Stephan Borrmann, Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Chemie und Professor am Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre an der Mainzer Universität. „Die notwendige großräumige Kreisströmung war allerdings schon Mitte Dezember so stark, dass die tiefen Temperaturen frühzeitig erreicht wurden.“

So konnten die Wissenschaftler mit Hilfe von neu entwickelten thermodynamischen und optischen Messinstrumenten an Bord des Forschungsflugzeugs „M55 Geophysika“ die Größe einzelner Wolkenteilchen messen und die Eigenschaften von Aerosolteilchen in der Stratosphäre bestimmen. Die eingesammelten Partikel werden jetzt im Labor untersucht. Ziel ist es, herauszufinden, in welchem Ausmaß Aerosolpartikel zur Entstehung der polaren Stratosphärenwolken beitragen können. Hierbei handelt es sich um Aerosol, das immer in der Stratosphäre vorhanden ist und zum Beispiel aus Vulkanausbrüchen stammt, um Partikel anthropogenen Ursprungs wie Ruß und um Meteoritenstaub.

Polare Stratosphärenwolken bestehen aus dem wolkenbildenden Aerosol und Kristallen, die vorwiegend Wasser und Salpetersäure und Spuren von Schwefel- und Salzsäure enthalten. Sie spielen eine entscheidende Rolle beim Abbau des polaren Ozons, denn chemische Reaktionen an der Oberfläche und im Inneren der Kristalle wandeln inaktive, ursprünglich anthropogene chlorhaltige Substanzen in aktives, Ozon zerstörendes Chlor um. Erst im Frühjahr, wenn in die chemisch derart modifizierte Stratosphäre wieder genügend Licht dringt, findet der rapide Ozonabbau durch das angereicherte und aktivierte Chlor statt.

Um einschätzen zu können, wie sich der Ozonabbau in der Zukunft entwickelt, verwendet man numerische Vorhersagemodelle, deren Qualität stark von detaillierten Kenntnissen der physikalischen und chemischen Prozesse abhängt. Um beispielsweise die Bildung von Wolken im Computer richtig simulieren zu können, müssen offene Fragen mit Hilfe von Experimenten im Inneren der polaren Stratosphärenwolken geklärt werden. Messträger mit den geeigneten Instrumenten in so große Höhen zu bringen, stellt eine immense technologische Herausforderung sowohl an das Flugzeug als auch an die wissenschaftlichen Instrumente dar.

Das Messflugzeug Geophysica ist ein ehemaliger russischer Höhenaufklärer und startete jeweils von Kiruna in Nordschweden. Die Untersuchungen fanden im Rahmen der sogenannten ESSENCE Messkampagne des Forschungszentrums Jülich (FZJ) und des Karlsruher Institute of Technology (KIT) statt.

„Wenn die derzeitigen meteorologischen Bedingungen in der Stratosphäre bis zum März stabil bleiben, wird sich im Frühjahr 2012 vermutlich ein erhebliches Ozonloch über der Nordhemisphäre bilden“, erläutert der Atmosphärenforscher Borrmann. „Das können wir auf Grund der beobachteten Wolken und der Spurengasmessungen sagen.“ Mittlerweile tritt das Ozonloch, das man aus der Antarktis kennt, auch in der Nordhemisphäre regelmäßig auf. Sobald sich die stratosphärischen Wetterbedingungen wieder auf die sommerlichen Verhältnisse umstellen, wird das abgebaute Ozon durch neu herbeiströmendes ersetzt.

http://www.mpic.de/Aerosol-und-Wolkenphysik-Uni-Mainz.11616.0.html

Nachrichten

weitere Nachrichten
(URL: http://www.fona.de/de/news.php)

Newsletter


Registrieren Sie sich für unseren aktuellen FONA-Newsletter!
Newsletter abonnieren
(URL: https://www.fona.de/de/newsletter.php)