International Postgraduate Studies in Water Technologies (IPSWaT)

The IPSWaT-scholarships for master and PhD-degrees at German universities aim to provide capacity building for future decision makers in science, economy or development cooperation worldwide in order to contribute to sustainable development in the water sector. Since the IPSWaT programme will run out in 2014, no more applications for scholarships are accepted.
IPSWaT Meeting 2009 in Stuttgart (Internationales Büro des BMBF im Projektträger beim Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V.)
IPSWaT meeting 2009 in Stuttgart
photo: Internationales Büro des BMBF im Projektträger beim Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V.

The IPSWaT-programme (International Postgraduate Studies in Water Technologies) aims to support outstandingly qualified young scientists fromGermanyand abroad in attending German universities to acquire Master’s or PhD degrees in English that are international in outlook and related to water technologies.

In the last 10 years, almost 400 scholars and alumni (Master and PhD) from more than 60 countries worldwide have successfully participated in the programme. Since the IPSWaT programme will run out in 2014, the last selection of scholars happened in 2012. A total of 23 master courses from 20 German universities are accredited. Additionally, PhD-candidates could submit their application to any German university. One particular selection criteria was the relation of the research subject to the candidate’s home country or region and an integrated, methodical approach. Research in the field of integrated, sustainable water management, groundwater modelling, modelling of water bodies, freshwater ecology and waste water treatment are some of the priority subjects.Field research abroad, participation in conferences, internships and annual meetings of the scholars make part of the scholarship. A further particular concern of the programme is the maintenance of the alumni network and building networks between IPSWaT-scholars and institutions of German water research, development cooperation and the water economy and technology sector.

Offering scholarships to young German and international scientists serves as support to the international transfer of knowledge and technology in the field of water management and the integration of potential future decision-makers, especially in developing and emerging countries. The objective of the programme is to develop long-term international scientific and economic contacts in the water sector. In a larger context, the aim of the programme is to take on global challenges and to contribute to sustainable development and green growth in the water sector.

On behalf of the BMBF, the IPSWaT-programme is managed by the Project Management Agency c/o German Aerospace Center (DLR).

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Download Forms

- Formular_Anmeldung_Abwesenheit
- IPSWaT_Zahlungsanforderung_blanco
- Abschlussbericht
- Anlage zu laengerem Forschungsaufenthalt
- IPSWaT_ZN_blanko_Tabelle
- VN_Tabelle

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Scholarship holders’ meeting

 

Every year IPSWaT organizes a meeting of scholars which offers the oportunity to get in contact with representatives from the German water sector (government, research, technology and development cooperation). Moreover, scholars get the oportunity to present their research projects and exchange ideas. At the end of the event happens the award ceremony. The last meeting took place in Bonn, June 16 - 18, 2014. As the program will run out at the end of this year, it was also the last IPSWaT meeting at all.  More information: Cornelia Parisius and Sara Sabzian.

 

 

IPSWaT: participating universities

 

Useful links:

Climate protection: fellowships of the Alexander von Humboldt-Foundation for prospective leaders

Each year the foundation selects up to 20 young qualified leaders to receive International Climate Protection Fellowships that bring them to Germanyfor twelve months. Before submitting their applications, they must have selected and established contact with an appropriate host university or institution, where they will carry out free, independent research on a subject connected with climate protection and resource conservation. The Humboldt fellows also engage in intensive discussion of their research findings, methods and techniques with their host institutions.
More information: http://www.humboldt-foundation.de/web/iks.html

DWA - German Association for Water, Wastewater and Waste

 is the German technical-scientific association for sustainable water industry. As IPSWaT-student you get from DWA

  • two years free membership
  • participation in seminars, workshops and conferences
  • once a year attend the "Young Scientists Programmes"
  • access to international networks and international career opportunities

For further information: http://www.dwa.de/

GAWN - German Alumni Water Network

The German Alumni Water Network has been established to better coordinate activities for former students ofGermanUniversitiesand development associations inGermany. It provides contact information from and for DAAD and IPSWaT-Alumni and Alumnae active in the the water sector online. Registered users of the database have the opportunity for using detailed search functions within the database to identify potential collaborators, to locate former colleagues, and to establish new links.

For further information: http://www.gawn.de/.  

CIM - Centre for International Migration und Development

The Centre for International Migration und Development (CIM) is looking for people who want to use what they know where it is most needed: in emergent and developing countries. This is why the Returning Experts Programme works with graduates and experienced professionals who want to return to their home countries or regions.

For further information: http://zav-reintegration.de/ 

Alumniportal Deutschland

Researchers, scientists, experts, students, trainees – many thousands of people come toGermanyevery year. Alumniportal Deutschland gives them the opportunity to maintain their contacts and broaden their skills even after their return. On the web page and in the community they find events, advanced trainings, education programmes, webinars, jobs, companies, contacts and cooperation partners in their home countries and worldwide – also within the field of Water!

For further information: http://alumniportal-deutschland.org 

DAAD-Scholarships on Sustainable Water Management

One of the priority funding points to which the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) attaches particular importance in its Framework Programme on "Research for Sustainable Development is Sustainable Water Management (NaWaM)". Of particular interest are the thematic fields of Water and Energy, Water and Health, Water and Nutrition, Water and Environment, as well as Water in Urban Areas. At the centre of the DAAD Special Programme funded with the resources of the BMBF on "Sustainable Water Management" lies in the promotion of young scientists from Kazakhstan, Mongolia, Iran, Jordan, Vietnam and Indonesia.

For further information: http://daad.de/wasser-stipendien  

Last update: 15.08.2017

Internationales Postgraduierten - Nachwuchsprogramm im Wasserfach (IPSWaT)

Mit den IPSWaT-Master- und Promotionsstipendien werden bis 2014 junge Wissenschaftler aus aller Welt dazu befähigt, als spätere Entscheidungsträger in Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft oder Entwicklungspolitik für nachhaltige Entwicklung im Wasserbereich einen Beitrag zu leisten. Da das Progamm in 2014 ausläuft, werden keine Stipendienanträge mehr angenommen.
IPSWaT Meeting 2009 in Stuttgart (Internationales Büro des BMBF im Projektträger beim Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V.)
IPSWaT-Treffen 2009 in Stuttgart
Foto: Internationales Büro des BMBF im Projektträger beim Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V.

Das IPSWaT-Programm (International Postgraduate Studies in Water Technologies) unterstützt hervorragende Nachwuchswissenschaftler aus dem In- und Ausland, die ein international ausgerichtetes Aufbaustudium im Wasserfach (Master oder PhD) in englischer Sprache an deutschen Universitäten absolvieren.

In den letzten 10 Jahren haben knapp 400 Stipendiaten und Alumni aus über 60 Ländern weltweit das Programm erfolgreich durchlaufen. Die letzte Auswahlrunde fand 2012 statt. Insgesamt sind 23 Masterstudiengänge an 20 deutschen Hochschulen sowie weitere deutsche Universitäten für die Betreuung der Promotionsstipendiaten beteiligt. Bei der Auswahl der Kandidaten wurden besonders Forschungsvorhaben mit einer relevanten heimat- oder regional bezogenen, problemlösungsorientierten Themenwahl berücksichtigt. Dazu gehören u.a. Forschungsarbeiten unter dem Aspekt des integrierten, nachhaltigen Wassermanagements, Grundwasser- und Gewässermodellierung, Gewässerökologie und Abwasserbehandlung. Bestandteil der Förderung sind auch Feldforschung im Ausland, Konferenzteilnahme, Praktika in deutschen Wasserunternehmen oder –betrieben sowie ein jährlich stattfindendes Stipendiatentreffen. Die Alumniarbeit sowie die Vernetzung mit Vorhaben der deutschen Wasserforschung, der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit und mit Wasserwirtschafts- Verbänden ist ein besonderes Anliegen des Programms.

Mit der Vergabe von Stipendien an deutsche und internationale Nachwuchswissenschaftler wird zum einen der Wissens- und Technologietransfer im Bereich Wassermanagement in den internationalen Raum hinein gefördert. Die Ausbildung und Einbindung möglicher zukünftiger Entscheidungsträger auch in Entwicklungs- und Transformationsländern wird unterstützt und eine Grundlage für künftige Kooperationsmöglichkeiten geschaffen. Im weiteren Zusammenhang wird durch die Förderung nachhaltiger Entwicklung im Wassersektor auch globale Verantwortung übernommen.

Im Auftrag des BMBF wird das IPSWaT-Programm vom Projektträger im Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt betreut.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Download Formulare

- Formular_Anmeldung_Abwesenheit
- IPSWaT_Zahlungsanforderung_blanco
- Abschlussbericht
- Anlage zu laengerem Forschungsaufenthalt
- IPSWaT_ZN_blanko_Tabelle
- VN_Tabelle

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Stipendiatentreffen

 

Jedes Jahr findet ein Stipendiatentreffen statt, das den „IPSWaT“ - Stipendiaten die Möglichkeit bietet, sich einerseits über deutsche Politik, Forschung, Technologie und Entwicklungszusammenarbeit im Wasserfach zu informieren, andererseits ihre Forschungsarbeiten untereinander vorzustellen. Am Ende der Veranstaltung wird den ausscheidenden Stipendiaten das Abschlusszertifikat überreicht. Das letzte Stipendiatentreffen fand vom 16. - 18.6.2014 in Bonn statt. Da das Programm am Ende des Jahres ausläuft, war es auch für IPSWaT das letzte Treffen. Weitere Informationen über Cornelia Parisius und Sara Sabzian.

 

IPSWaT: Teilnehmende Hochschulen

 

Nützliche Links:

Klimaschutz- Stipendien der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung für Nachwuchsführungskräfte

Bis zu 20 qualifizierte Nachwuchsführungskräfte wählt die Stiftung jedes Jahr für ein Internationales Klimaschutzstipendium aus. Die Stipendiaten kommen für zwölf Monate nach Deutschland. Bereits vor ihrer Bewerbung müssen sie eine Hochschule oder eine Einrichtung auswählen und den Kontakt zum Gastgeber aufbauen. Dort forschen sie selbständig und frei zu einem Thema aus dem Klima- und Ressourcenschutz. Dabei tauschen sich die Humboldtianer mit ihrem Gastgeber intensiv über Ergebnisse aus und diskutieren Methoden und Techniken. Mehr Informationen: http://www.humboldt-foundation.de/web/icf.html

DWA - Deutsche Vereinigung für Wasserwirtschaft, Abwasser und Abfall e.V.

Die DWA ist  der technisch-wissenschaftliche Fachverband für eine nachhaltige Wasserwirtschaft  in Deutschland. Für IPSWaT-Stipendiaten bietet die DWA:

  • zweijährige kostenlose Mitgliedschaft
  • Teilnahme an  Seminaren, Workshops und Konferenzen
  • Teilnahme am "Young Scientist Programm" einmal jährlich
  • Zugang zu  internationalen  Netzwerken und internationalen Karriereangeboten.

Weitere Informationen: http://www.dwa.de/.

GAWN - German Alumni Water Network

GAWN hat zum Ziel, die Aktivitäten der Alumni von deutschen Universitäten im Wassersektor besser zu koordinieren. GAWN, finanziert vom DAAD, informiert über Veranstaltungen, Jobangebote und Masterkurse, versendet regelmäßig newsletter und führt eine Datenbank für eingetragene Mitglieder.

Weitere Informationen: http://www.gawn.de/.

CIM - Centrum für internationale Migration und Entwicklung

Das Centrum für internationale Migration und Entwicklung (CIM) sucht Menschen, die ihr Wissen dort einsetzen möchten, wo es am meisten gebraucht wird: in Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländern. In dem Programm “Rückkehrende Fachkräfte“ arbeitet CIM deshalb mit Absolventen und berufserfahrenen  Fachkräften zusammen, die in ihr Herkunftsland zurückkehren möchten.

Weitere Informationen: http://zav-reintegration.de/.

Alumniportal Deutschland

Forscher, Wissenschaftler, Experten, Studenten, Auszubildende - Viele tausend Menschen kommen jedes Jahr nach Deutschland. Das Alumniportal Deutschland bietet ihnen die Möglichkeit, ihre Kontakte und Kompetenzen auch nach der Rückkehr in ihre Heimatländer zu sichern und zu erweitern. Hier finden Sie Veranstaltungen, Weiterbildungen, Webinare, Jobs, Unternehmen, Kontakte und Kooperationspartner in  Ihrem Land und weltweit – auch zum Thema Wasser!

Weitere Informationen: http://www.alumniportal-deutschland.org/.

DAAD-Wasserstipendien

Einer der Förderschwerpunkte, dem das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) in seinem Rahmenprogramm „Forschung für Nachhaltige Entwicklungen“ besondere Bedeutung beimisst, ist Nachhaltiges Wassermanagement (NaWaM). Von besonderem Interesse sind die Themenfelder Wasser und Energie, Wasser und Gesundheit, Wasser und Ernährung, Wasser und Umwelt sowie Wasser in urbanen Räumen. Im Zentrum des aus Mitteln des BMBF finanzierten DAAD-Fachprogramms „Nachhaltiges Wassermanagement“ steht die Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses aus Kasachstan, der Mongolei, Iran, Jordanien, Vietnam und Indonesien.

Weitere Informationen: https://www.daad.de/wasser-stipendien

Zuletzt geändert: 15.08.2017